Hilary Duff – Breathe In. Breathe Out.

IMG_1525After 8 years Hilary Duff finally releases a new album. I am honestly afraid this album will flop so hard because last year she released two singles “Chasing The Sun” & “All About You” (Which I personally love) that failed to make an impact. This year she released another single “Sparks” a.k.a. Tinder theme song and again failed to crack top 40. I honestly love all the songs she released recently and sometimes you really can’t explain why an artist flop or underperform even with radio friendly singles.

The album opens up with “Sparks” and even with a messy tinder music video, I love the song a lot. I played it while I’m jogging and it has so much potential to be a hit. It’s catchy and I love the whistles in the intro. “My Kind” is a good follow-up to “Sparks”. It’s a cute mid tempo song and I can imagine Rihanna singing it. “Confetti” is something Katy Perry will record and will release as a follow up single. I like the Belinda Carlisle’s “Heaven Is A Place On Earth” reference in the bridge. “Breathe In. Breathe Out.” is my favorite track in the record. I love the vibe and the lyrical content. It’s a good break up song. “Tattoo” is a song co-written by Ed Sheeran. It really sounded like an Ed Sheeran track with a female voice into it. It really stand out in the album after couple of electro-pop tracks. “Night Like This” feat. Kendall Schmidt is a cute duet. In the deluxe edition you will have 2 additional tracks “Belong” and “Rebel Hearts”. Both have vibe of Phillip Phillips’s “Home” meets synth-pop.

Overall it is a nice album. I the like mash-up of acoustic and synth-pop in some of the tracks. As I’m typing this post it is already number 1 in US iTunes, Saudi Arabia iTunes and several countries. It’s a bit unexpected given that she doesn’t have strong lead single to support the album.

If give a chance to release more singles from the album I choose “My Kind” and “Confetti” but that is only based on my first listen of the album.

Here is the track listing of the album courtesy of officialcharts.com

hilary-duff-breathe-in-breathe-out-tracklisting

About Angelo

I love music, airplane food, steak, travelling, photography & video games.
This entry was posted in Music, Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

