Exploring Milan (Italy day 1)

I wanted to start my Europe travel blog in Italy! We just finished our short stay in Lugano, Switzerland and we were on our way to Milan.  I saw this “Piazzale Anne Frank” through my bus window.  I love the story of Anne Frank and I google searched about the place but I wasn’t able to find any information in english. All I know is “Piazzale” means a large square.

IMG_4075

My photo is blurred 😦

Moving on, we arrived in Milan around 2 in the afternoon. The bus dropped us in Milan’s Malpensa airport and we went to our hotel by train through the airport’s train station.We checked in, rested for a few minutes and after that, we explored the city. In Lugano, Switzerland, the small peaceful lakeside town is very clean but in Milan, you will really feel that you are in a very big urban city because there are lots of people, graffiti and everything you will expect in a city.

We wanted to visit the “Duomo di Milano” (Milan Cathedral) first. I’m was a little nervous because I felt like we will get lost but thank God we didn’t. Our hotel was near in Lima station and we are only 5 stations apart to Duomo di Milano. It was only 7 minutes train ride and to be honest I wasn’t feeling Milan that much. We arrived in Duomo station and when I rode the escalator, going up, I saw the Cathedral square for the first time and it was marvellous. My perception of the city changed! It was like a kingdom in my favourite T.V. show “Game of Thrones” and the opening instrumental of that show was playing in my head while I’m walking in the square. The square is packed with people. On my right, I saw the posh shopping arcade called Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II and on my left, the first stop of our tour, Duomo di Milano.

IMG_4740.jpg

Duomo Di Milano

DCIM101GOPROGOPR2496.

Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II

Duomo Di Milano or Milan Cathedral took almost six centuries to build. The line was a little long and we were hungry. We decided except of sitting in a restaurant for lunch, we just bought a panini (Grilled sandwich and it was so delicious) and ate it while we were waiting in line for the entrance in the cathedral and museum. Inside of the cathedral was nice and the museum beside was ok. What I really loved was that you can climb the top of the Duomo either by stairs or elevator (separate ticket). If I’m travelling alone, I will definitely choose the stairs option for adventure but I’m with my sister and niece so we rode and elevator. I love the view from the top of the cathedral and you can see Milan’s classical cityscape.

IMG_4742.jpg

Inside Duomo di Milano

DCIM101GOPROGOPR2533.

View from the top of Duomo

After visiting the Duomo and the museum beside it, we went to Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II to find a restaurant for dinner. I was excited to eat dinner because it would be my first time eating pizza and pasta in Italy. We walked and walked in Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II until we reached Piazza della Scala where we saw Leonardo Da Vinci’s monument and Teatro Alla Scala Opera House. We finally decided to eat dinner in a restaurant located in Piazza della Scala (I forgot the name).I ordered pasta of course and risotto for my sister. All I cay is that the food in Italy is so delicious and it is now my favourite country (out of 8-9 I visited) in terms of food.

IMG_4694.jpg

My first pasta in Italy

IMG_4757.JPG

Leonardo Da Vinci’s Monument

After dinner, we wanted to watch anything in the opera house just for the sake of experience but there were no available tickets. We just spent the evening chilling, window shopping (I can only afford a handkerchief in Prada LOL!) and picture taking before we return in our hotel. It was a great day and my energy level was so high that I’m not even tired yet when we returned to our room.

Here is the video of our Milan tour:

 

About Angelo

I love music, airplane food, steak, travelling, photography & video games.
This entry was posted in Blog, Food, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

